Business Meeting Minutes for March 7, 2014 Student Development Administrators Association (Pending Approval)

- I. Call to order
 - Meeting called to order by Chair Laura Leatherwood at 8:05am and participants welcomed by Chair.
- II. September 26, 2013 Business Meeting Minutes
 - Pending minutes had been posted on the web site and paper copies of business meeting minutes were distributed to participants. After time to review, motions were properly made to approve the minutes without any changes. With no discussion from the floor, the minutes were unanimously approved.
- III. Chair's Report
 - The Chair gave updates to the Joint Conference agenda.
 - The Chair recognized JW Kelley for updating the website.
 - The Chair recognized the retirement of Caroll Collum from Cape Fear CC and thanked her for her years of great service.
- IV. Treasurer's Report
 - Ginny McLendon distributed paper copies of the financial report and presented the report.
 - The association was reminded to pay their dues.
 - There were no questions from the floor.
- V. Standing Committees' Reports
 - No reports.
- VI. Ad Hoc Committees' Reports
 - Dallas Herring Award Selection committee will make a recommendation to the Presidents later this month. Committee members are: Pam Harrell, Scott Johnson, Larry Mitchell, Levy Brown, Quinten Johnson, Alison Wiers, Laura Leatherwood, and JW Kelley.
 - High School GPA work group partnered with DPI and Universities evaluating the weighting of quality points. Laura Leatherwood served on this group with the goal of establishing community college courses as earning the same quality points as AP courses.
 - CAA Review Steering Committee has completed the updates to the CAA and are now providing information sessions in partnership with TAC. JW Kelley is representing SDAA

- VII. On Going Business
 - Only the Western Region has met since the last business meeting. They met on October 17, 2013, at AB Tech and their next meeting is scheduled for May 1, 2014.
 - The Chair encouraged the regions to meet because these meeting agendas tend to be about best practices and can be very helpful.
- VIII. New Business
 - Draft SDAA constitution revisions were presented by Rita Jerman. The draft was distributed during the September 26, 2013, Business Meeting and has been posted on the website as well. A summary of changes was distributed.
 - Discussion resulted in one change to clarify that membership eligibility includes any student development personnel with leadership responsibilities as determined by the college's Chief Student Development Officer.
 - Discussion clarified that future amendments will be approved by members present, not one vote per college.
 - Revised constitution was properly approved by the membership to be adopted immediately.
 - Slate of officers were presented by the Chair
 - Past Chair: Laura Leatherwood, Chair: Alison Wiers, Chair Elect: James
 "JW" Kelley, Secretary: vacant, Treasurer: Ginny McLendon.
 - With no discussion, the slate of officers were properly approved by the membership.
 - JW Kelley appealed to the membership to support N4CSGA because there is a need for advisors to support the student led organization. At this time, there is only one advisor who is a part-time staff at Randolph Community College and he needs help.
 - Rita Jerman expressed concern about not only the volume of initiatives coming from the System Office but also the lack of support to operationalize those initiatives.

- Sharron Morrissey responded with an apology of the inconvenience and agreed that a pilot for the NC DAP may have been better. She also described several situations where the System Office has not control over external entities such as DPI's software problems.
- General discussion from the floor that the local colleges philosophically support the initiatives, however, the pace and lack of technological resources has put the colleges in a state of fatigue.
- Sharron responded that future initiatives will be approved by and/or come from the Presidents (e.g., Competency Based Education). Wesley Beddard agreed and suggested that we dialogue with the Presidents Association. Laura agreed to pursue this idea.
- The membership also requested that the system office return to the practice of having monthly conference calls. Because of the high volume of participation, the calls may be split by region or functional area.
- IX. Adjournment
 - The Chair brought the meeting to adjourn at 9:00 am.

Minutes prepared by James Kelley, Secretary

Participants at March 7, 2014, Business Meeting.

Sign in list (order of signatures)

JW Kelley, Randolph CC Kim Faw, Wilkes CC Samanthia Phillips, Edgecombe CC Patricia Saunders, Edgecombe CC Michael Jordan, Edgecombe CC Tony Rook, Edgecombe CC Barry Priest, Bladen CC Jay Sullivan, Beaufort County CC Karen Phinazee, Wake TCC Rosemary Kelly, Fayetteville TCC Kelly Kingry, Southeastern CC Alison Wiers, Guilford TCC Pam Harrell, Johnston CC Ginny McLendon, Edgecombe CC Lewis Stroud, Cape Fear CC Patrick Pittman, Cape Fear CC Jackie Foster, Cape Fear CC Carol Cullum, Cape Fear CC Linda Tasyan, Cape Fear CC Karen Jones, Isothermal CC Andy Gardner, Cleveland CC Marcia Stoneman, Blue Ridge CC Jamie Childress, Central Carolina CC Jamee Stiffler, Central Carolina CC John Erickson, Gaston College Audrey Sherrill, Gaston College Silvia P. Rios Husain, Gaston College Christy Deave, Southwestern CC Cheryl Contino-Conner, Southwestern CC Levy Brown, Brunswick CC Valarie Evans. Durham TCC Wendy Vann, Roanoke-Chowann CC Steve Woodburn, College of the Albemarle George A. Henderson, Vance-Granville CC Lisa D. Inman. Durham TCC

Attended and did not sign in

Laura Leatherwood, Haywood Community College