Welcome to the Student Development Administrators Association. We serve as the voice of Student Development Administrators of Community Colleges in North Carolina

Our Mission

A. Promote the concept of student development in all institutions of the North Carolina Community College System.

B. Create an awareness of the role and function of the chief administrator for student development services.

C. Provide a vehicle through which communication among the institutions of the Community College System, and articulation with the North Carolina Community College Office can be facilitated.

D. Provide a means of leadership for the professional growth of personnel who are responsible for student development services.

SDAA Officers

The Executive Committee of the Student Development Administrators Association (SDAA) is responsible for adopting policies, procedures, and guidelines as needed to ensure the continuing responsible and effective operation of the Association.

2023-2024 Executive Committee Members

Scott Johnson President Wilkes Community College
LaTonya Nixon Vice President Beaufort Community College
Andy Gardner Treasurer Cleveland Community College
Kirsten Bunch Secretary Blue Ridge Community College
Michael Coleman Immediate Past-President Haywood Community College

2023-2024 Regional Representatives

Vacant Central TBD
LaTonya Nixon Northeast Beaufort Community College
Myra Furr Piedmont/Foothills Stanly Community College
Barry Priest Southeast Bladen Community College
Kirsten Bunch Western/Mountain Blue Ridge Community College

Past SDAA Presidents

Michael Coleman 2022/2023
Barry Priest 2021/2022
Sabrina Terry 2020/2021
Sabrina Terry 2019/2020
Patrick Holyfield 2018/2019
Silvia Patricia Rios Husain 2017/2018
James “JW” Kelley 2015/2016
Alison Wiers 2014
Laura Leatherwood 2013
Lee Proctor 2012
Rita Jerman 2011
Susanne Adams 2010
Gene Purvis 2009
Lee Proctor 2008
Pam Harrell 2007
John Wester 2006
Keith Smith 2005
Garett Hinshaw 2004
Don Spell 2003
Russ Sharples 2002